THE ONLY PROBLEM WITH ADVISING EXERCISE FOR DEPRESSION IS THAT YOU NEED A BIT OF ENERGY TO GET GOING AT ALL

The only problem with advising exercise for depression is that you need a bit of energy to get going at all. Even then, at my lowest when I’ve dragged myself out for long long walks in the past it just made me physically tired, didn’t lift my spirits at all and I didn’t help me sleep.

I’ve taken up Karate. I’m hoping some anger can go into a controlled place rather than self harm, or self destruct.

This evening as I faced a huge guy built like a mountain and holding massive padding I was encouraged to punch and kick…. very cathartic.

But sometimes the extra energy just powers the violence towards myself. The high from the exercise is followed by an equal and intense low full of suicidal thoughts fuelled by a real drive to follow through.

So like anything, it is not a simple cure all.

Leave a Reply

